Know more about Certifications
  • Whitepaper:

    Standards and certifications for HSM devices

When you purchase an IT solution for your organization, there is no simple way to determine which product is the absolute best, and which is the ideal choice for your company, your needs and your processes. Different solutions are required in different regions and different use cases. However, the commonly used certifications can help you pick the best product, since they indicate that the solution meets certain standards. Understanding the background and the details of these standards and certifications can make the choice easier. i4p has summarized the most important facts in this whitepaper.

Government agencies in many countries are obliged to purchase and use IT products that earned specific certifications. For example, FIPS 140-2 is mandated in the US for many federal agencies using cryptographic-based security systems to protect sensitive information in computer and telecommunication systems, while in many European countries, Common Criteria certifications are required in such cases. A great number of public organizations also choose to buy solutions with such certifications in order to ensure the security and reliability of the purchased product.

In case of cryptographic modules, companies can rely on two certificates: FIPS 140 and Common Criteria (in some cases, financial institutions have to comply with PCI DSS as well). In most aspects, the two certificates require the same security features and assurances. Basically, if a product has a CC EAL 4+ certificate for the PP for Cryptographic Module for Trust Services, it provides around the same functionality as a product with a FIPS 140-2 Level 3 certificate. However, organizations need different specifications and certificates for different use cases. Find out from our whitepaper which one is useful for your needs!

Register for download

    Download this document to find out:

    • What are certifications and why they are necessary?
    • Where are certifications required?
    • How can a product be certified?
    • Which are the most common certifications for cryptographic modules?
    • What is the difference between Common Criteria, FIPS 140-2 and 140-3 certifications?
    • Which certification is better?

    HU-1125 Budapest,
    Fogaskerekű utca 4-6.

    Phone: +36 1 700 1230
    Email: info@i4p.com
    Website: https://www.i4p.com

    Follow us!

    blog posts

    11 Jan: i4p is on the Deloitte Fast 50 list

    i4p is on the latest Deloitte Technology Fast 50 Central Europe list, which ranks the fastest growing companies in the technology industry in the Central European region.

    recent NEWS

    We know our small donation will be in good hands with the 'Until I Grow Up' Foundation. We wish them a continuing successful in their valuable work. #TraditionOfGiving #SupportingCommunities https://lnkd.in/dHQjGrcT

    A client has specifically asked for it, so we made a delta certification and Trident HSM has received also SSCD certificate for its "local use-case". This is how we work, we listen to our valued customers and and try hard to introduce the features they as…https://lnkd.in/dgbiW39Y

    Get your free ebook:

    Why every company needs HSM modules?

    Download this ebook to find out:

    • What is a Hardware Security Module (HSM)?
    • Why do you need an HSM?
    • Why is an HSM beneficial for your company?
    • What type of HSMs are available and what are they useful for?
    • How do you choose the right HSM for your organization?
    • How do you deploy and use an HSM?